Thursday, October 4, 2012

New Car Seat Law in Maryland

A new law in Maryland regulating the use of car seats, took effect on October 1, 2012.  This law requires children younger than eight-years of age to be in a safety seat, unless they are 4 feet 9 inches or taller.  This new law removes the weight exemption for children who weigh more than 65 pounds.
This law is a primary offense, which means drivers can be detained and cited for violating this law. The fine is $50.00 for each child in the vehicle that is not properly restrained.  The fine also applies to children ages 8 to 16, who are still required to wear a seat belt. 
The law was passed in April and was supported by a doctors' group that sought to decrease the number of spinal cord and neck injuries in toddlers that resulted from automobile accidents.